Summary:

A customer may query which system actions in Sage CRM cause the system metadata to be updated. This is not an exhaustive list, but covers the majority of actiosn that can trigger refreshes.

More information:

A metadata refresh is carried out when the following system actions are carried out:

  • Creation or editing of:

    -          Reports
    -          Dynamic Data
    -          Quotes and Orders
    -          Integrations
    -          Users
    -          Channel/Team Admin
    -          Translations
    -          Workflows
    -          Groups
    -          Key Attributes
    -          Products
    -          Data upload
    -          Languages
    -          Campaigns
    -          Currency Admin
    -          Territory Admin
    -          Email Templates
    -          Web services
    -          Notifications
    -          Reassign Users
    -          Advanced Find searches
    -          Database Admin
    -          Changing the list of entities indexed by Quick Find
    -          Making changes to core metadata items (databases, tables, fields, screens, lists and views)
    -          Installing new components

Typically, if an item from the above list is changed or updated, a partial metadata refresh will be carried out automatically on the server where you are working.

The way that metadata refreshes behave differs depending on whether you're in a single- or multi-server environment. In a single (web) server environment, a metadata refresh for the affected area will be carried out as soon as the changes are complete. In a multi-server environment, the MetadataVersion entry on the Custom_Sysparams table is checked periodically by the secondary CRM servers. On completing a customisation, the metadata version is incremented - this change in version triggers a full metadata refresh on all secondary servers.
 
The effect of this is that if a customer is in a multi-server environment, and an item on the above list has been updated by a user on one server, then those changes will not be reflected on the other server until the metadata has been refreshed. This can have a variety of effects – if for instance a new product has been created in the system, then it will not be visible to users logged into the secondary server until the metadata has been refreshed. This typically takes place after a short period of time.