Summary:

When running the upgrade from 6.2 to 7.0 all program files are upgraded, as well as the registry. When the upgrade scripts are starting there is a pop-up message: "The database is already partially upgraded. Please restore from backup."


Resolution:

It appears the installer is checking for certain tables before initialising the upgrade, then introduces its own tables.
The table is called ‘beingupgraded’ you can see the table being created during the upgrade normally, so I think at some point they may have started installsheild and then closed out crashing the upgrade which left the table behind. Then when restarting the upgrade the installer is checking this to see if it already exists, so the steps below will remove the table allowing the business partner to proceed.
Steps
1) Ensure backups are taken prior to any scripts being run.
2) In SQL enter this script to drop the table.

\
drop table beingupgraded

\
WARNING: The techniques or examples contained in this article are for illustrative purposes only, and have not been tested in a production environment. The techniques or examples used are not necessarily supported features of SAGE CRM, and may not have been previously tested or implemented on a production environment. Before attempting to implement any of these techniques or examples on a production environment, they should be tested thoroughly, as use of these techniques may cause unexpected behaviour. SAGE can accept no responsibility for any issues arising from the use of these techniques. Please ensure that you back up your database and application fully before implementing any changes of this nature.